You are here

Governors Press Release 7-8-16

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

SBA Disaster Assistance Granted for Oklahoma Counties Impacted by June Storms

July 8, 2016

OKLAHOMA CITY – Governor Mary Fallin today announced that seven Oklahoma counties may now receive disaster assistance from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) as a result of flooding and severe storms that began June 11.

The designation provides SBA low-interest disaster loans for homeowners and business owners in Comanche County to replace any property damaged by the storm that was not covered by insurance or other assistance programs. The loan program is also available to assist businesses that sustained economic injury due to the storm.

Under SBA rules, the contiguous counties of Caddo, Cotton, Grady, Kiowa, Stephens and Tillman are also eligible for assistance.

Residents and business owners in those counties may apply for an SBA disaster loan online at Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling (800) 659-2955 or An SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center will be open beginning Tuesday at the Comanche County Fairgrounds at 920 S. Sheridan Road in Lawton.

The state requested the SBA declaration Thursday after the Federal Emergency Management Agency denied the governor’s request for individual assistance.

Garvin County, which also was included in the governor’s request, was not approved for the SBA declaration.